McBride Passionate about Private Label

Our Board

John Coleman

John Coleman

Chairman of the Nomination and member of the Remuneration sub-committee.

Appointed: July 2016

John brings considerable experience holding office as a Non Executive Director in various companies across multiple market sectors, including retail and construction. He was Senior Independent Director whilst at Travis Perkins between 2005 and 2014 and has previously held the role Chairman of Aga Rangemaster Group plc, McColl's Retail Group plc, Holidaybreak plc and Russian Consumer electronics retailer PJSC Mvideo.

John has also had significant executive experience in the retail sector, having been CEO of House of Fraser and CEO of Texas Homecare, a part of Ladbrokes plc. Prior to this he was a member of the senior management team at the Burton Group, holding managing director roles for a number of its fashion chains.

Other roles: Chairman of Bonmarché Holdings plc and private company Barchester Healthcare Ltd.

Rik De Vos

Rik De Vos
Chief Executive Officer

Member of the Nomination committee.

Appointed: February 2015

Skills and experience: Rik has over 27 years' experience working within the chemical and manufacturing sectors, providing technical products to a wide variety of international markets, customers and consumers. He also brings extensive general management experience internationally as well as having proven success in completing several strategic turnaround projects where businesses have been restored to profitable growth.

Rik was previously Global General Manager for the Flexible Foam division of Recticel, the quoted Belgian company. Prior to this, his career has included roles with ICI, Huntsman, Rohm & Haas and BorsodChem.

Chris Smith

Chris Smith
Chief Finance Officer

Appointed: January 2015

Skills and experience: Chris is a chartered accountant and has more than 25 years' experience working in manufacturing businesses in highly competitive industries across the UK, Europe and the Far East.

From 2008 to 2014, Chris was Group Finance Director at API Group plc, the AIM‑listed specialty metallic film, foil and laminates producer. Other previous roles have included Scapa plc, where he was Finance and IT Director for Europe & Asia and also a number of senior finance roles at Courtaulds plc, where he gained extensive international experience, including overseas positions based in Germany and Hong Kong.

Steve Hannam

Steve Hannam
Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Member of the Audit, Remuneration and Nomination sub-committees.

Appointed: February 2013

Skills and experience: Steve brings extensive experience of independent Board level scrutiny, having held a number of positions as Chairman and Non‑Executive Director in listed companies during his career, as well as senior executive positions both internationally and in the UK. Steve brings diversity of style, skill and experience and makes him ideally suited for the role of Senior Independent Director, ensuring a challenging mindset when setting and monitoring implementation of the Group's strategy.

Steve's previous positions have included Chairman of Aviagen International Inc, Non‑Executive Director of Clariant AG and AZ Electronic Materials Services Limited, Group Chief Executive of BTP Chemicals plc and, most recently, Chairman of Devro plc and Senior Independent Director of Low & Bonar plc.

Sandra Turner

Sandra Turner
Independent Non-Executive Director

Chair of the Remuneration and member of the Audit and Nomination sub-committees

Appointed: August 2011

Skills and experience: Sandra brings extensive consumer business insight and experience, from both a retailer and supplier perspective. She was a member of the senior management team of Tesco, one of the Group's major customers, for over 20 years, holding executive, commercial and operational roles in the UK and Ireland, latterly as Commercial Director of Tesco Ireland between 2003 and 2009.

Since that time Sandra has been appointed a Non‑Executive Director to a number of listed companies supplying into the FMCG sector, including previously Northern Foods plc. Also, as Remuneration Committee Chair of three listed companies, Sandra brings a broad knowledge, understanding and awareness of this continuously changing field and the importance of linking the Company's strategy and performance to executive remuneration.

Other roles: Non‑Executive Director of Huhtamäki Oyj, Non‑Executive Director and Chair of Remuneration Committee of Carpetright plc, Non‑Executive Director of Greene King plc, Senior Independent Director and Remuneration Committee Chair of Greggs plc. Also, the Vice‑Chair of a large independent school.

Neil Harrington

Neil Harrington
Independent Non-Executive Director

Chairman of the Audit and member of the Nomination and Remuneration sub-committees.

Appointed: January 2012

Neil, a chartered accountant, brings a strong financial background having operated as an executive Group Finance Director in a range of global consumer facing business under both PLC and Private Equity ownership. In particular he has experience in leading complex corporate finance transactions including acquisitions, disposals and corporate restructures and he has extensive experience of operating internationally. His is wealth of knowledge in debt structuring, financing, investment and banking facilities is also invaluable.

Neil has held senior finance roles in a number of global listed companies, including ASDA/Walmart Stores Inc., Barclays Bank plc, French Connection Group plc and in his previous executive role was Group Finance Director at Mothercare PLC. Neil's financial background and expertise leave him eminently suitable to hold the role of Audit Committee Chair. 

Other roles: Chief Financial Officer of Cath Group Kidston Limited since 2012.

Annual report 2017

Mcbride Annual Report 2016 RH Panel Graphic 1